Joanna Keane Lopez (MFA '24) receives the 2023 Murphy Award

Photo by Minesh Bacrania

The Jack K. and Gertrude Murphy Award is given to an MFA student of unusual caliber with great artistic promise. Edwin Anthony and Adalaine Boudreaux Cadogan both experienced financial challenges as art students and understood the great difference scholarships can make in the early phase of an artist’s career. The winners of the Murphy and Cadogan scholarships each receive support for their MFA studies. All the students benefit from participation in a professionally curated exhibition at SOMArts Cultural Center and mentorship from curator Kevin B. Chen.

2023 Murphy & Cadogan Contemporary Art Awardees

Murphy Awardee

Joanna Keane Lopez, Stanford University

Cadogan Awardees

Salimatu Amabebe, University of California, Berkeley

Jonathon Bout, San Francisco State University

Xianghan Cheng, California College of the Arts

Lynse A. Cooper, California College of the Arts

Cynthia Gonzalez, San Jose State University

Valencia James, University of California, Berkeley

Leah Koransky, San Francisco State University

Wendy Liu, Stanford University

Nivedita Madigubba, University of California, Berkeley

Jessica Monette, Stanford University

Lucía Moreno Nava, San Francisco State University

Yunfei Ren, Stanford University

Chelsea América Torres, San Francisco State University


The 2023 Murphy and Cadogan Contemporary Art Awards Exhibition is on view September 15–October 6, 2023. An opening reception and awards ceremony will be held on Thursday, September 14, 6-9pm. RSVP in advance.